chris dave phonte elzhi

New Tigallo (x3)! Phonte and Elzhi along with Eric Roberson give Chris Dave’s debut single that fish grease.

Drummer Chris Dave is gearing up to release his first album, Chris Dave & The Drumhedz. Because he packs an impeccable ear for bringing people together, the Robert Glasper Trio member called upon some friends to make his debut single a special occasion. Phonte and Elzhi handle the bars for “Destiny N Stereo” while singer Eric Roberson closes things out. Dave’s percussion and arrangement is flawless with call back to early radio samples and the “it’s always gon’ be fire” rappers backing him up. Elzhi bats lead-off and slices through the beat dropping one-liners such as, “Drop a jewel on the weakest link on your chain of command.”

Phonte doesn’t waste time building into the same chemistry the two displayed on Charity Starts At Home‘s “Not Here Anything.” “Still got love for an imitator / Y’all making daddy so proud, lemme put ya’ll report cards on the refrigerator,” the do-everything artist raps. Later he closes his verse with a slick, dexterous punch that hits like a Tyson punch in ’86: “Moving in money circles, n**** I’m figure skatin’.”

Chris Dave and the Drumhedz debut album arrives January 26 via Blue Note Records. The 15-track album is loaded with guest appearances from Kendra Foster to KRNDN, Sir, Tiffany Gouche, Keyon Harrold, Bilal, Anderson .Paak, Stokley Williams, Anna Wise and more. You can stream the NPR premiered “Destiny N Stereo” below.

Chris Dave and The Drumhedz, Chris Dave & The Drumhedz Tracklist
01. “Rocks Crying”
02. “Universal Language” (feat. KRNDN, Sy Smith & D.Rose)
03. “Dat Feelin” (feat. Sir, Tiffany Gouche & Keyon Harrold)
04. “Black Hole” (feat. Anderson .Paak)
05. “2n1”
06. “Spread Her Wings” (feat. Bilal & Tweet)
07. “Whatever”
08. “Sensitive Granite” (feat. Kendra Foster)
09. “Cosmic Intercourse” (feat. Stokley Williams & Casey Benjamin)
10. “Atlanta, Texas” (feat. Goapele & Shafiq Husayn)
11. “Destiny n Stereo” (feat. Elzhi, Phonte Coleman & Eric Roberson)
12. “Clear View” (feat. Anderson .Paak & Sir)
13. “Job Well Done” (feat. Anna Wise & Sir)
14. “Lady Jane”
15. “Trippy Tipsy”