A 16-man two-night tournament is set for January to crown the first WWE United Kingdom champion.

Unlike their efforts say 20 years ago, the WWE has been conscious of almost every independent promotion in the world. Whether it be the New Japan talent raid, the Cruiserweight Classic, working relationships with EVOLVE and more, Triple H and company have made it very well known that they are a global brand and will flex when necessary.

Early Thursday morning, another flex was pulled off by the 14-time former World Champion and the WWE. Inside of London’s O2 Arena, the COO along with former Universal Champion Finn Bálor and NXT General Manager William Regal announced the latest WWE venture overseas: a two-night, 16-competitor tournament to crown the first WWE United Kingdom Champion. You can preview the new WWE United Kingdom title above.

“There’s no reason why it can’t be as big as Raw, Smackdown or NXT,” Triple H told the crowd.

The event will take place January 14 and 15 from Blackpool’s Empress Ballroom, airing exclusively on the WWE Network. Here’s the full list of participants, including two alternates:

01. Trent Seven
02. Pete Dunne
03. Tyler Bate
04. Wolfgang
05. Tyson T-Bone
06. Tucker
07. Jordan Devlin
08. Roy Johnson
09. Joseph Connrrs
10. HC Dyer
11. Jack Starz
12. Sam Gradwell
13. James Drake
14. Dan Moloney
15. Chris Tyler
16. Saxon Huxley
17. Ringo Ryan
18. Tiger Ali

Bálor said, “This tournament is the bridge between the independent scene and the WWE.”

ROH leader Nigel McGuiness will be calling the action alongside WWE’s Michael Cole.

Photo: WWE