For the past few months, small tracks and moments from J Dilla’s posthumous album The Diary have surfaced via Mass Appeal Records. In February, the album was announced along with the cache of certain producers and rappers appearing alongside Jay Dee. A decade after his passing, The Diary arrives on Tax Day along with a little West Coast flair via Snoop Dogg, Kokane & Hi-Tek (“Gangsta Boogie”) along with “The Sickness”, a Nas & Dilla collaboration using production from the Jaylib era of J Dilla & Madlib. Bilal & Pete Rock also contribute to The Diary as well.

Initially recorded in 2001 as a vocal album, The Diary has been pieced together from Dilla’s master files and various mixes. Jay Dee, Madlib, Pete Rock, Supa Dave West, Hi-tek, Nottz, House Shoes, and Bink! all contribute additional production to The Diary and it stands as another watershed moment in the legacy and lasting impact of the legendary Detroit producer. Nas released a statement on the fallen producer who succumbed to complications from lupus in 2006:

May J Dilla continue to Rest in Power in Hip Hop Heaven for eternity. Honored to play a part in his works and honored to be a part of this song. He shines down on us with while we get to enjoy his Diary Of J Dilla album. His word ring loud on this one. Salute to all those who collaborated on this piece. Salute to Detroit and his family.

Stream/purchase J Dilla’s The Diary via Apple Music & iTunes.

J Dilla, The Diary Tracklist
01. The Introduction
02. The Anthem (feat. Frank N’ Dank)
03. Fight Club (feat. Nottz & Boogie)
04. The Shining, Pt. 1 (Diamonds) [feat. Kenny Wray]
05. The Shining, Pt. 2 (Ice)
06. Trucks
07. Gangsta Boogie (feat. Snoop Dogg & Kokane)
08. Drive Me Wild
09. Give Them What They Want
10. The Creep (The O)
11. The Ex (feat. Bilal)
12. So Far
13. Fuck the Police
14. The Diary
15. The Sickness (feat. Nas)
16. The Doe