Thundercat has been playing the background for the past two years. It’s not a shot at the Los Angeles bassist but he hasn’t released as much as a new song since his excellent 2013 album Apocalypse. What’s been Thundercat’s big drop of 2015? His bass work on Kendrick Lamar’s To Pimp A Butterfly, which should earn him enough awards and acclaim to go into 2016.

Nevertheless, the Brainfeeder signee and frequent Flying Lotus collaborator is about to shut down all of that “where’s the next Thundercat project coming” down with “Them Changes,” the first mention from his upcoming The Beyond / Where The Giants Roam mini-album which is due out Monday. Herbie Hancock, Mono/Poly, Miguel Atwood and FlyLo who produced “Them Changes”.

Onto the song. “Them Changes” kicks off like an accompaniment to The Isley Brothers lauded bedroom classic “Footsteps In The Dark” before unwinding into something far more funky and freewheeling, much like the musicianship from Lamar’s stellar 2015 politically charged album. A vintage stroll down careful yet complex instrumentation is where FlyLo and Thundercat get off on these days. Hear “Them Changes” below. The Beyond / Where The Giants Roam releases Monday, June 22 via Brainfeeder.

The Beyond / Where The Giants Roam Tracklist:

01. Hard Times
02. Song for the Dead
03. Them Changes
04. Lone Wolf and Cub
05. That Moment
06. Where the Giants Roam / Field of the Nephilim