DJ Candlestick x Jay-Z - Purple Grail_cover

Jay-Z’s Magna Carta Holy Grail album in one way or another defined your summer, whether it was the fact that Jay dropped his first solo album in nearly three years’ time, the ingenious way Magna Carta was marketed scheme – even with its slightly faulty Samsung app – was pure genius, or the way it suddenly sprung up on us, a pleasant if perfectly-timed surprise arriving on the 4th of July holiday and shortly after Yeezus.

As the Chopstars have done with so many of the year’s biggest releases thus far, DJ Candlestick and OG Ron C have taken Jay’s LP and given it that chopped not slopped treatment. The result? Purple Grail, a 22-track remixing of Jay’s album with a few extras – “Dead Presidents 3” and a Chop Not Slop remix of In My Lifetime: Vol. 1’s “Sunshine.” Because if we were honest, we all knew that the only way we’d get that extended version of “Beach is Better” was if it got slowed down, and drawn out, exactly how it’s done here. Strategically, DJ Candlestick and OG Ron C also rearrange the album’s song order, though, closing out with a “F.U.T.W.” that somehow manages to sound even more anthemic than the original.

Sure, Purple Grail is arriving much later in the summer than we might have hoped; but is it still going to be in your rotation this fall? Absolutely. Check the tracklisting after the jump and download below.


1. Purple Grail Intro
2. Tom Ford
3. Holy Grail (f. Justin Timberlake)
4. La Familia
5. F*ckWitMeUKnowIGotIt (f. Rick Ross)
6. Beach is Better
7. Purple Grail Weakstyle
8. Part II (On the Run) f. Beyonce
9. Sunshine ChopNotSlop Remix
10. Oceans f. Frank Ocean
11. Somewhere in America
12. DP3 (UGK Remix)
13. Jay-Z Blue
14. Purple Grail Weakstyle 2
15. Picasso Baby
16. Heaven
17. Nickels And Dimes
18. Versus
19. Crown
20. BBC (f. Nas, Pharrell, Swizz Beatz, Timbaland, Beyonce, and Justin Timberlake)
21. Purple Grail Outro