Last night at Empire, Propain delivered on a project nearly two years in the making with Ridin Slab. The LP comes on the heels of a year in which Pro found himself sitting on the same album as Eve, once more performing at tehe Los Magnificos Custom Car Show and rarely delivering on brand new tracks or songs, save for “Ball Drop” at the start of 2013, his feature on DeLorean’s “I Keep That” record from Hood Politics Vol. 3 and Dante Higgins’ “Rhymes For Months” with Doughbeezy. Bun B toasted him, Pro smiled and beamed and for once, he seemed open to any and all greeters.

It’s easy to assume that Pro understands the difference between an album style release and a mixtape far better than anyone else in Houston. At times he’s refused to release new material even when fans have clamored for him to match the same release pace as other Houston rappers. But in mindset, Ridin’ Slab is easily Pro’s most seamless release yet, making certain all the time most believed he was idle, we were to be made to look like fools.

“Got A Problem” stands as one of the tape’s true standouts, a moody record for where Pro continues rushing through thoughts of failed friendships and Slim Thug’s only gloating over being lord over his haters. “Father’s Day”, similarly titled to OneHunnidt’s record of the same ilk from Keep It 100 runs into the same problems that Pro’s expressed in previous records before about his absent father and confronts them. “My Life” signals another milestone for the rapper as more and more his compelling solo material begins to stand in the way of his busier, more notable features.

Three years ago, “Say I Won’t” exploded onto the local map and effectively solidified Pro into a spot post-Frontline tours and Car Show appearances. Same for Ridin’ Slab. With features from Doughbeezy, Z-Ro, Lee Lonn & Lil Keke among others, it marks the first Pro tape that doesn’t work around fluff, engaging listeners for 11 tracks, 12 if you’re up for another entertaining Larro skit from Donnie Houston’s well of imagination. It’s not meant to be an extension of Departure nor Dangerous Minds. It’s a top to bottom Houston flavored release from a guy who lists Slaughterhosue as one of his favorite groups and wouldn’t mind just going bar for bar with anyone with that now infamous Hiram Clarke drawl of his.

Now to only guess where his career trajectory plots out from here.

Propain – Ridin’ Slab Tracklist
01. Intro
02. Ain’t Nuthin
03. All Day (f. Z-Ro)
04. You on You (f. Lee Lonn)
05. My Life
06. Got a Problem (f. Kirko Bangz & Slim Thug)
07. Reverse
08. Father’s Day
09. Larro Skit
10. Louder (f. Doughbeezy)
11. Can’t Wait
12. Ridin Slab (f. Lil KeKe)