It’s that time again. The nominees for the 2012 Houston Press Music Awards have been announced and are dominated by plenty of first time nominees and shockers in terms of who’s up for what particular award. (To see the full list of nominees, click here)

Tawn P finds herself alone as the lone rap artist to be nominated for Best Album/LP/EP of the year for Next Phase and the Best Mixtape category (which could read the same as Best Rap Project) has none of the year’s original tabs for best tape. Instead, Onehunnidt’s #KeepIt100 leads the pack followed by 220 Music’s The Following, Noon’s Freestyle Mixtape & Potnaz-N-Rhyme.

Actually, Noon may find himself to be the breakout star of the nomination process as he’s up for numerous awards including Best Song (“Ford Taurus”), Best New Act, Best Local Music Video (“Ford Taurus”) & Best Songwriter. H.I.S.D. are nominated for two awards (Best Local Music Video & Best Group) while Kirko Bangz & Doughbeezy are both nominated in the Best Local Musician category. MANTIS frontman Nick Greer & DeAndre Wright were both tabbed for Best Pop Act and Lee-Lonn, who will be making an appearance on BET’s 106 & Park Wednesday is nominated for Best R&B.

The Best Rap Category is somewhat of a shock as well with Tawn P, Onehunnidt, Noon, Thurogood Wordsmith, Kyle Hubbard & Fat Tony rounding out the noms. Best Rap Group remained true to form with 220 Music, The Niceguys & Lower Life Form joining H.I.S.D., Best DJ the same somewhat with DJ Auditory joining the fray of DJ Candlestick, iPod Ammo & DJ Remix and Best Producer being lead by Third World TV among others.

Voting begins now and will continue until August 5th, the night of the HPMA Showcase. Vote for your favorites.